On January 1, 2001 the City of Kawartha Lakes, which was formerly the County of Victoria came into being. The City was formed through the amalgamation of the Town of Lindsay, Municipality of Bobcaygeon/Verulam, villages of Fenelon Falls, Omemee, Sturgeon Point and Woodville, the townships of Bexley, Eldon, Emily, Fenlon, Laxton, Digby & Longford, Manvers, Mariposa, Ops and Somerville, replacing the County of Victoria.